About The National Regiment

Soldier Of The Year – La Médaille “Esprit de Corps”

Each year, the National Regiment selects from a list of those worthy members who have unselfishly given of their time and energy to the hobby, and for the good of the regiment. Those receiving the award are known among the troops as the, “Soldier of The Year.” Originally conceived as an award by which the National Regiment may express its gratitude and appreciation the individuals in the military impression, it was soon recognized that on special occasions it may be awarded to individuals, groups of individuals, or units, who have made a significant contribution to the NR either through acts or deeds. Those receiving the award are honored with La Médaille “Esprit de Corps”, which is announced at the Dress Parade during the Remembrance Day celebration in Gettysburg each November.

By direct vote of the Board of Directors the recipients are selected. Their contributions to the National Regiment may be made in such a manner as to be unknown or unrecognized by the general rank and file of the organization. Additionally, in 1992, 2000, 2002, and 2004, La Médaille “Esprit de Corps” was presented to deserving individuals or groups for their contribution to the Regiment and its members.